Innovation Leader of the year 2013

The world is currently entering a new era in which companies, nations, and continents must reinvent themselves. Intense competition, shorter product lifecycles and the continuing aftermath of a global economic crisis means it is more essential than ever to constantly change in order to survive. Against this backdrop, individuals who constantly push innovation and transformation to reach growth are highly in demand. With the new “Innovation Leader of the Year” award a jury of Swedish experts and executives recognizes young individuals who show the potential to become such leaders. This year the prize was awarded to Yingzhi Zhu Ryberg (31), a PhD Student at the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm (KTH). The jury, which consists of six individuals with broad experience from both industry and academia, nominated four highly competent finalists. All finalists share the ability to link technology innovation with business innovation for the commercialization of new products and services or to transform business models. Among the finalists, Yingzhi Zhu Ryberg convinced the jury with her outstanding performance, abilities and personal impact. She currently works on renewable biomass that can be used for future packaging. In addition, she promotes the commercialization of waste from the pulp industry for use as an ingredient in cosmetics products. “The Jury recognized a strong innovation potential with personal and team leadership deployed to approach a complex technical and business problem” in Mrs Ryberg. Not only does the environment benefit from her work, the research also has “a global business potential and is of relevance for the Swedish Industry” states the jury in its argumentation. The jury consists of six executives and experienced professionals:

  • Laurent Leksell, Principal owner and Chairman of Elekta AB, a leading global provider of advanced medical technology and guest lecturer at Harvard Business School and INSEAD in France
  • Ulla-Britt Fräjdin Hellqvist, Managing Director Fräjdin & Hellqvist, member of numerous of boards and former vice president Volvo Cars
  • Mats Magnusson, Professor in Product Innovation Engineering, KTH and Research director of the national Product Innovation Engineering program (PIEp) and research institute IMIT
  • Daniel Carlsson, Technology transfer manager, KTH Innovation and responsible for the IP in KTH Holding AB
  • Anders Johansson, Partner and Head of the global Technology and Innovation Management (TIM) practice at Arthur D. Little
  • Nils Bohlin, Partner and Head of the global Healthcare and Life Sciences practice at Arthur D. Little

Notes for Editors

About Arthur D. Little Founded in 1886 as the world’s first consulting firm, Arthur D. Little has continually transformed business thinking and practice by applying its expertise in the areas of strategy, technology and innovation. Today, Arthur D. Little helps companies to create growth, overcome strategic challenges, improve innovation capabilities, and increase efficiency and competitiveness in a globalised marketplace. Arthur D. Little has a global footprint in 20 countries with a network of over 1,000 people.

Further Information

Contacts: Sue Glanville/ Cate Bonthuys
Say Communications
Tel: +44 (0)20 8971 6400